Captured Rails Necessary?

Thread: Captured Rails Necessary?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Captured Rails Necessary?

I am in the doodling stages for my inevitable "next" CNC machine. I am by no means an engineer, but I'm wondering if "capturing" the rails (i.e. carriages/bearings on both the inside and outside of the X-axis rails) is truly necessary?

For machine v2.0, I'm wondering if an arrangement with a single pair of V-wheels on each X-axis would work. I'm thinking mount the V-track at the inside edge of the rail, and the gear rack at the outside edge, and do away with the outside-edge bearing assemblies altogether.

I attached a quick sketch below. The view in the attachment would be from the outside of the rail looking toward the inside. You might recognize Ahren's rack & pinion mounting plate on the outside. Just looking for some second opinions on the idea.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Captured Rails Necessary?-x-axis_rail_v2-jpg  
    Last edited by adt2; 01-09-2012 at 02:37 PM.

In the configuration shown, you will also need V-bearings and rails on the bottom. And a way to adjust them. The weight of the machine is not enough to plat the upper bearings firmly in place.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by adt2 View Post
    I am in the doodling stages for my inevitable "next" CNC machine. I am by no means an engineer, but I'm wondering if "capturing" the rails (i.e. carriages/bearings on both the inside and outside of the X-axis rails) is truly necessary?

For machine v2.0, I'm wondering if an arrangement with a single pair of V-wheels on each X-axis would work. I'm thinking mount the V-track at the inside edge of the rail, and the gear rack at the outside edge, and do away with the outside-edge bearing assemblies altogether.