Build or buy?

Thread: Build or buy?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Build or buy?

I have been a machinist for 10 years. About 7 years ago, I built my first CNC router. It was a small affair, but it was an educational experience of immense proportions. Time went on and I sold the router to open up some cash flow.
    Now here I am in a new home with a job that pays well. I have a large garage and work shed from which I can do projects. I have been looking at building another one, this time much larger (4'x4' working area). For myself, there is no question about it, I will design and manufacture it. Here is the point of my post:

My father-in-law wants me to build him a small (2'x2') CNC. He is approaching retirement age, and for some reason isn't able to shingle roofs or redo kitchens very quickly anymore (he is 63, and has been swinging a hammer longer than I've been alive, lol) He wants something he can do sighns, engrave cabinets, do small gift shop/hobby work.

So, I need to examine the costs of making a foolproof CNC that anybody can run with very little instruction (he is not computer savvy by any means), or the costs of purchasing a ready made unit. If I made it for him, the costs to him would pretty much be just enough to cover the materials, plus a tad little bit for labor. Pretty certain that it will be cheaper to build it, but if one were to figure on paying wages, what would the answer be then? (assume 20 an hour for making it)

The biggest thing (in my mind) is that it needs to be 100% foolproof and reliable. Granted, you can only make a CNC as reliable as the operator, but we take a lot of things for granted with our own creations. If things have quircks, we learn to live with them.

Programming the CNC would obviously take some time to teach, so I would handle that side of things until he was comfortable enough.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

My .03 (inflation:})