Waterfall like paths in Cut3d?

Thread: Waterfall like paths in Cut3d?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Waterfall like paths in Cut3d?

I've finished my machine build and am now trying to decide on a CAM package. My top two favorites right now are MeshCAM and Cut3D. I'm leaning slightly towards Cut3D because of the very helpful toolpath preview and their additional software offerings, which I may want to upgrade to later.

The one thing that I really like about MeshCAM is the "Waterfall" pass. Is that something unique to MeshCAM? Is there anything equivalent in the Vectric line?

It really just seems to make sense to follow the contour of the surface features like that. Of course, I can only judge from the simulations (and I am not very experienced), but it seems to get a lot better results without using extremely small step over settings (if I'm using the term right).

Perhaps I should be doing more of my parts as 2.5d instead, but the workflow I have going right now really lends itself to producing 3d parts as STL files.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I think aspire has waterline, but its not cheap.

can you post pics of your parts ? Stl and 3d should really only be used for complex surfaces,

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Ugh, I hesitated to post this for two reasons. One, I don't know how well SketchUp will be received on this forum. And two, I'd like to avoid the "This should be done as 2d" conversation. I realize that this particular part is perfect for 2d, but my question remains.
    Does the waterfall path give cleaner results with a more efficient use of time and tools? And if I choose a CAM package that doesn't offer that, do I need to make other adjustments, such as step over?