CNCzone.com-The Largest Machinist Community on the net!



Home Page Mark Forums Read Today's Posts My Replies Classifieds Reviews Photo Gallery Web Links Share Files Advertise With Us Ad List
Go Back   CNCzone.com-The Largest Machinist Community on the net! > Electronics > Computers and Networking


Computers and Networking Discuss computer and Networking related questions here!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   Ban this user!
Old 04-06-2005, 11:53 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 64
brtlatjgt is on a distinguished road
Anyone seen this?

www.softpcs.com

What do you think?
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #2   Ban this user!
Old 04-07-2005, 06:35 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 32
screensnot is on a distinguished road
Hmmn...

Autodesk AutoCAD 2005
Retail Price: $3750
Their Price: $100
Save: $3650

Sounds like a pretty good deal.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-07-2005, 06:49 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 692
Dan B is on a distinguished road
A fancy webpage doesn't erase the fact that this is software piracy. Then again, it may not be. Send them your $100 and see what happens. Most likely, that's the last you will see of it. Then when you finally realize that your $100 is gone forever, and you are not getting your autocad, who you going to complain to?

Like I said, it may not be piracy. It may be just plain fraud.

Dan
__________________
(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #4   Ban this user!
Old 04-07-2005, 11:09 AM
HomeCNC's Avatar  
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Age: 54
Posts: 779
HomeCNC is on a distinguished road
No, I think you are going to be able to download the software from this site! I just don't know how they are getting away with selling and distributing CRACKED software!

Read this from their site:

Why is the software so inexpensive?
We offer the software for downloading only, it means that you do not receive a fancy package, a printed manual and license that actually aggregate the largest part of the retail price. In this situation we are restricted in selling the products for private purposes only! You will not be able to get a technical support and different rebates from the manufacturer. Updates are available for the most of our products (you may ask our support staff for the exceptions) that make them fully functional and operating. Additionally you save the delivery cost.
Notice that is says what you will NOT get, and a License is one of the things you will not get.

They say you will be downloading .ISO formats that need to be burned to a CD. They are accepting a credit card for payment, and this is why I think you WILL be able to download the software. Other wise you can stop the payment from your card.

Wow they really have balls doing this out in the open like that!
__________________
Thanks

Jeff Davis (HomeCNC)
http://www.homecnc.info


(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:13 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 692
Dan B is on a distinguished road
Perhaps you will be able to download. But if those pirates get busted, do you really want your credit card info in their records? I personally don't need the RCMP (or FBI in the US) knocking on my door.

Dan
__________________
(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
  #6   Ban this user!
Old 04-07-2005, 02:55 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 64
brtlatjgt is on a distinguished road
I knew it was too good to be true but looking at the sight it seemed so legitamate. I too wonder how they can brazenly get away with this.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #7   Ban this user!
Old 04-07-2005, 03:12 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CANADA
Posts: 23
rgillam is on a distinguished road
theres usually a clause in there stating they can they are issuing you replacment copies for your purposes, but you're supposed to have a legal copy in your possesion. Juat makes it look legit I guess.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:37 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States
Age: 26
Posts: 1,387
JFettig is on a distinguished road
Well, I did a WHOIS on the domain, the address info is a PO box, in denver colorado. The phone number is completely fake +1.2372732
the website has also been up for only 5 days.

I wouldnt doubt that your getting the software, just how legit is it? I doubt its any amount legit.

Jon
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #9   Ban this user!
Old 04-07-2005, 03:40 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 975
psychomill is on a distinguished road
I wonder if they're using corporate licenses to do this. I'd question the legality of that as well. Many companies are slowly switching over online sims or rolling access codes that constantly change. Support has to be horrible. Price for 'cheap' software.

I can't imagine any of the software companies condoning this. It takes away money from the supplier, legitimate dealers, maintenance and even the manufacturer.

I don't think I'll be buying anything from them today.... or tomorrow... ever.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-07-2005, 03:51 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 692
Dan B is on a distinguished road
Maybe this is a sting operation.

Dan
__________________
(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
  #11  
Old 04-07-2005, 08:09 PM
sol sol is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 226
sol is on a distinguished road
Whois reveals incomplete contact info in CO and interesting hosts.
Hosted by ESTDOMAINS
which is under ESTHOST
from Estonia
Email contact is soft@lastsoft.biz which is this site:
http://lastsoft.biz/
and it is from Bulgaria with a yahoo email address


Everything looks up front to me.
I'll give them my Credit Card number after I get the paid by the nice prince who needed help getting his money out of Nigeria.

Edit:
For what it is worth:
Bulgaria is second only to China in software piracy and Estonia is another major player.

Last edited by sol; 04-08-2005 at 06:43 PM.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-08-2005, 06:40 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 692
Dan B is on a distinguished road
I'll give them my Credit Card number after I get the paid by the nice prince who needed help getting his money out of Nigeria.
There seem to be a lot of rich Nigerians who have trouble with their money. I get asked to help at least once a month.

Dan
__________________
(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO
Template-Modifications by TMS

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353