connecting to 3d printer

Thread: connecting to 3d printer

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default connecting to 3d printer

I have acquired a 3d systems actua 2100 3d printer, and I have been trying to figure out how to network it to my computer. I have the correct driver software (alegro), but I must be inept at windows nt, because I have been unable to connect. Does anyone out there have any experience with these machines, or might anyone know someone who does? 3d systems no longer provides support.

Clint

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Actua printer

Hi Clint,

Did you ever end up getting the printer up and running? I'm trying to get mine working over here...

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Sort of. I had it so that i could print out the test objects, but I never really got it hooked up to my computer correctly. I have been storing it for a few years until I can get a building permit so that I can build my workshop. In the meantime, I have a makerbot cupcake cnc, which has been serving me well for the last 7 months.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Cool thanks for responding! Interesting, so do you actually have the allegro software?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I think I do somewhere. I actually downloaded it from this (who knows, it might still be there):
    "Hi Clint

I have attached the document that covers the installation of the software that you will use to submit jobs to the Actua printer from your workstation over a network connection. This is the software which I said I could get you and it can be downloaded from the following ftp site: ftp://ftp.3dsystems.com/customersupp...mssoftware/mjm. The name of the file is actua20.zip. This software is to be installed on a workstation on the network into which you install the printer. The network connection can be made via a crossover cable or a hub.