Parallel to USB....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Parallel to USB....

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Parallel to USB....

So like an idiot I snagged a Parallel to usb adapter cable so i could use my new cnc on my brand new laptop. One thing I forgot... ummm will any controller software read through usb? and futher more this can prob get even more complicated.

So heres the Q.. Anyone done this and/or anyone know any info on trying to do this.

Another thing I was thinking of running my machine off this old school lappy like a P133, Anyone know a Windows based apps like Mach that will run on this system?

Also I have read ppl saying you dont need to use an older pc due to pulse rate etc but as a certified computer tech I do not see where this is an issue. At 133mhz you can run alot of info and the parallel port will only do the same on new machines as it has with the older machines for years (other than a few very small advancements)

Anyone can shine some light on this as well?

LOL I cant keep my machine like it is, as i have it in my office and its taking up alot of room plus I have had to move my pc around etc..

Anyways any response would be great.

Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

I have no personal experience, but I've read on CNCZone that the USB adaptor won't work on Mach but a PCCIMA (sp?) adaptor will.

If you scrounge just a bit, you should find a suitable old computer for $50 to $100. Ebay runs a little high on these, but there's plenty available.

Karl

Downloads
    Uploads

hi, yea the PC cards are 98-150$ which is insane for what it is.
    I'm looking at another lappy

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default USB to Parallel cable.

I am using a USB to Parallel cable. The parallel end has the electronics in it.