Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Anyone acquainted with this router??

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Anyone acquainted with this router??

    Not sure if this is the proper forum for this question. If not, please direct me to correct site. Anyone aware of or know anything about this cnc router? Have searched internet for a Sparrow 22E CNC Router, can't find...

    e-Bay Auction..

    For auction is a Davinci Design, Model Sparrow 22E CNC Router.
    This was my personal machine and was used for testing only.

    Features:

    Working envelope: X 24” (610mm) x Y23” (610mm) x Z3” (80 mm)

    Max Speed: 50 Inch per minute

    Router motor: 2.25 HP variable speed 8000 to 24000Rpm with ¼” and ½” collet

    Actuation: ACME screws all axis

    Bearings: Low friction glide bearings on all axis

    Limit switches: All three axis (Home Position)

    Power supply: 110V AC

    Table: Laminate

    Hook up to computer: By printer cable (included)

    Software: WIN PCNC Economy (included with operator manual)

    Features: Auto spindle and auto vacuum on off


  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Shelby Twp, MI....USA
    Posts
    22,298
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Did you already buy it? Couldn't find it on Ebay.
    Gerry

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://home.comcast.net/~cncwoodworker/2010.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)


  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Looking for info re a Sparrow 22E CNC Router

    Gerry - No I haven't bought yet. I bid $2,200.00 and the top bid was $3,800.00. The top bidder couldn't produce the green and I have received an e-Bay second chance to purchase at my bid. I have searched the internet for this unit and cannot find another one or the manufacturer. I hope you can view this photo I have tried to attach. Any additional advise you might share would be most appreciated.

    J.SnowAnyone acquainted with this router??-f31c_12.jpg


  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Another Photo of Sparrow 22E

    Anyone acquainted with this router??-f676_12.jpg

    J.Snow


  • #5
    Registered DennisCNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, FL US
    Posts
    819
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Looks like a good machine, just make sure the second chance offer is not fake!
    Dennis


  • #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    93
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    How can you tell if the 2nd chance offer is fake ? I've got a 2nd chance offered to me on a machine now.
    Wow, glad you said that !!


  • #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    40
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Cool

    bvsnowman:

    I just did some "quick" research on the seller of the CNC router you are considering.
    Several things make the hair on the back of my neck stand up. (1) seller has only 11 rating on EBay, {all through purchases HE MADE, prior to Dec, 2006} this is his first sale!!!!!!!

    (2) He tells you the "buyer" couldn't come up with the money?? Sounds fishy to me. He will take your offer? MUCH LOWER than final price from first bidder?

    (3) EBay WARNS AGAINST 2nd offers, very vigorously!!

    (4) There is a phone number listed on the EBay add, have you called this seller directly?

    (5) He claims to be shipping from Tenn., USA. Are you close enough to personally go pick up the item, and pay by certified funds directly with seller upon seeing the item? Or a second alternative if you know someone you can TRUST to go investigate the item in Tenn. Get a visual inspection, and also a "show me how it runs" demo?

    Just some things to consider BEFORE you drop your hard earned money on the table.

    I was ALMOST scammed on EBAY by someone who had STOLEN someone elses' I.D. and bid on an item I was selling.

    BTW: did you notice that this "first time seller" also has listed several other cnc machines??? My question, where did this person come from?? Never a seller on EBay before?? and now selling several CNC machines??

    Just found some ADDITIONAL info:

    This machine was also sold in February for 3661.00 to another "buyer".

    SNOWMAN RUNNNNNNNNNNNNN from this deal. OR send me 3 easy payments of just $39.99 plus shipping and handeling and I will include this lovely "custom" set of 4 {no make that 8} steak knives AT NO COST to you...
    Last edited by Bob Cole; 05-29-2007 at 07:05 AM. Reason: additional information


  • #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Anyone acquainted with this router???

    Bob Cole..

    Thanks for the great advice. You hit the nail right on the head. I did more research and found that the sellers web site davincidesign.com appears to be bogus. McAfee indicates the wib site is directing you to another site. No where on the interet can you find another Davinci Sparrow or the other models he indicates as having sold. No one on this froum appears to have heard of the manufacturer. The address in Nashville is a drop box. And the number one clue; if it sounds too good to be true - it probably is.

    I also contacted eBay and this is their reply...

    I reviewed your My Messages and found that you haven't received an
    official Second Chance Offer for an item matching the details that you
    provided. The message that you received is not a real Second Chance
    Offer. It is a fraudulent email from someone attempting to sell an item
    outside of eBay.

    You can make sure that a Second Chance Offer is legitimate by checking
    your My Messages section of My eBay. All legitimate Second Chance Offers
    will be forwarded from eBay and will appear in My Messages. Real Second
    Chance Offers will never direct you to email the seller or contact them
    at a different email address.

    If you are ever concerned about an email you receive from eBay, simply
    follow these steps:

    1. Open a new Web browser and type www.ebay.com into your browser
    address field to go directly to the eBay site.

    2. On eBay, sign into your account and click the "My eBay" button at the
    top of the page.

    3. Check the My Messages section located at the top of the My eBay page.

    ***Important***
    For future reference, you should be cautious if you receive an email
    with the following subject line: "Message from eBay Member." We do not
    use this subject line when we forward official Second Chance Offers to
    you from the seller.

    We recommend that you *do not* respond to the email you received or to
    any email that asks you to complete a transaction outside of eBay. eBay
    prohibits offers to sell items outside of eBay, and such offers put you
    at risk for fraud. For more information, go to:


  • Similar Threads

    1. Using a router for the 1st time. Need advice of cut speeds, router bits etc.
      By Apples in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
      Replies: 19
      Last Post: 09-23-2006, 04:33 PM
    2. Surfcam PP for Isel router / Precix router
      By IvanTochev in forum Post Processor Files
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 05-12-2004, 01:27 PM

    Posting Permissions


     


    About CNCzone.com

      We are the largest and most active discussion forum from DIY CNC Machines to the Cad/Cam software to run them. The site is 100% free to join and use, so join today!

    Follow us on

    Facebook Dribbble RSS Feed


    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.