Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 26

Thread: Does anyone have any experience with this eBay CNC?

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Does anyone have any experience with this eBay CNC?

    Hi,
    I was browsing around eBay for CNC stuff, and I saw this full-sized router, which I've never seen anywhere else:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/4X8-PROFESSIONAL...QQcmdZViewItem

    It looks like a well-built machine and it's a good price, but I'm just wondering if anyone has actually seen one of these and if it's really as good as it looks. It looks to me like someone trying to get started in the CNC market and using eBay to get established.


  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    433
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    It looks good, and seems to have a very low price for a steel machine. I like the fact that it comes with a real spindle.

    I could not tell if it was driven by steppers or servos. You would probably want to go servos.

    What is the controller software that comes with it? I would hope that you could use mach3 to drive this thing. They must be ashamed to admit it.

    To many unknowns. You should call them up.


  3. #3
    Gold Member dertsap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    3886
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    does look nice , though looking at the pictures there are two different machines judging by the gantry ??? what exactly is a guy buying


  4. #4
    Registered WayneHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    745
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Visit the sellers business before spending serious money on ebay.
    Wayne Hill


  • #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    40
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    This router is listed as "READY TO SHIP", then in the main listing they say it will be shipped in about 30 days. Which is it?? They are using R&P drive for the X & Y movement, not bad, but certainly not as accurate as ball screw. This unit looks to me like the ones shipping out of China. But what isn't these days?

    they claim to be located in N.E. United States. If that is the case it would be worth while to make a trip there to inspect and test the router.

    Caveat Emptor!


  • #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I noticed on the listing that it uses Mach3 as the controller software, which is very good. As for steppers/servos, I couldn't find anything on that -- guess I'll ask the seller. I'm guessing it's probably steppers for the price they're asking.

    I'm guessing this wouldn't take 30 days to ship as the description says "Unless noted as being an instock item your new router will be build to order.....". At the top of the listing they say it's in stock.

    One question I have for everyone though:
    This has an aluminum T-slot table, but what I really want is a vacuum table which I can hook up to a couple of Fein III Shop-Vacs(idea I got from browsing the ShopBot forums.) How exactly would one go about that with the aluminum table there?


  • #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    14
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thats a Chinese machine, I looked at buying one before. You can actually get it for about half that price!


  • #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Clw, FL
    Posts
    526
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I really like how they are comparing it to hobby MDF machines


  • #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    29
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I gave him a call about a week a go. I said I was going to Eastec and would be in his area. I wanted to drop by and take a look at his machines. NO machines he said he just sold everyone. I asked hin who he sold them to , I could give them a call and see if they liked them. He does not give out customes names. A total SCAM>>


  • #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    675
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I just set one of these up for a guy in Riverside last week. Its a Chinese import, it works as described in the ads pretty much. The control interface is a serial card installed in the a PC running proprietary software. The drives accept step & dir. inputs from an indexer (it would have to be re-wired to work with MachX). It is a heavy machine, and seemed to be a decent machine for the price. What do you want to know? It is not a scam.
    Halfnutz

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)


  • #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    29
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    When someone sells these things, you would think they would give you the name of the people they sold them to. ??


  • #12
    Gold Member dertsap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    3886
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    would you like to have ebay buyers calling your home ?


  • Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Need some help from those who have Experience.
      By Scra99tch in forum Vertical Mill, Lathe Project Log
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 06-20-2007, 11:55 AM
    2. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 04-15-2007, 08:21 AM
    3. Anyone Have Experience With This
      By DISCONNECTED in forum General Waterjet
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 02-25-2007, 04:14 PM
    4. cnczeus what is your experience with it.
      By belgrado in forum General CNC (Mill and Lathe) Control Software (NC)
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 01-24-2006, 05:33 PM
    5. My first experience with CNC
      By NeoMiller in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 10-10-2003, 09:08 AM

    Posting Permissions



    About CNCzone.com

      We are the largest and most active discussion forum from DIY CNC Machines to the Cad/Cam software to run them. The site is 100% free to join and use, so join today!

    Follow us on

    Facebook Dribbble RSS Feed


    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.