![]() | |
| Home Page | Mark Forums Read | Today's Posts | My Replies | Classifieds | Reviews | Photo Gallery | Web Links | Share Files | Advertise With Us | Ad List |
| |||||||
| CNCzone Club House Discuss everything in between CNC. THIS IS NOT A TRASH BIN. |
| This forum is sponsored by: |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
| |||
| |||
I tried listing a product which I distribute in the classified section of this website some time ago. I did not get the response I thought so I moved to eBay. Anyways, about a week ago I received an email from someone who saw my listing on this website and wanted to purchase the item. I was glad with a prospective sale in the near future. A couple of email volleys later and he let me know he was sending a certified check. The check came yesterday via UPS Next Day Air and was in the amount of $2200. This is roughly $2000 more than the sale price!!!! The check came with an Instruction sheet saying to cash the check, and send all excess funds back via western union/money gram. **RED FLAG** I will share some of the details of this with you as I want everyone to be aware that the threat is out there and to not be taken advantage of. I suspect that if I cash the check, it will bounce- and the money will be taken out of my account, while the scammer is sitting back with $2000 in his pocket!! Well here goes: Original "buyer" email - allentim01@aol.com Return Address on UPS - Rosirel Perez 7188727037 Genesis Manufacturing, Inc. 1937 Vyse Ave. Bronx, NY 10460 who I should wire the money to on instruction sheet- Rachel Prentice Boston, MA 02128 email on the instruction sheet- jmfast27@yahoo.com bank that check was issued from- National Bank of Texas at Fort Worth company name on check- TCA, Inc. 980 North White Chapel Blvd. Southlake, TX 76092 If any of the above information looks familar, beware. TOO MUCH INFORMATION THAT DOES NOT MATCH!!!! Why is the return address different from the address on the check? Why different emails? Why send from New York, pay as someone from Texas, ask to have the money wired back to Massachusetts? I am posting this because I care about the community here at CNC ZONE and would HATE for anyone to get involved in this. It is a shame that we cannot have a classified section on this forum without having to worry about fraud!!! BTW I plan to take the check to my bank on Monday and see what they can do. I may just have a hold put on the check and see if by some miracle the funds clear. Somehow I highly doubt it. BTW on google for 5 minutes and I found this: http://www.4m.net/showthread.php?t=36504 |
|
#2
| ||||
| ||||
| its a scam that has been going on for some time now , rip up the cheque why would someone feel the need to write a cheque and request money to be sent back to him , if it was legit the guy would be a moron to send 2G to a stranger and trust it will be returned , a simple withdrawl would be easier and safer (if the money was in the account to begin with )
__________________ A poet knows no boundary yet he is bound to the boundaries of ones own mind !! http://cnctoybox.org |
|
#4
| ||||
| ||||
| In the words of W.C. Fields, 'I would give him something I rarely give to anyone, My personal IOU.' Al.
__________________ CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Machine Design. “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.” Albert E. |
|
#5
| |||
| |||
Hi, I googled the company name of a check I received for a possible property renter from England. They reached me through my ad on Craig's List for the tenancy opening. They offered many reassurances through email that I could check their references in England. Upshot is: I received today a check from the National Bank of Texas. Address: 2835 28th St., Fort Worth, Tx 76106. Company drawn on: TCA, Inc. 980 North White Chapel Blvd Instructions: email jmfast23@aol.com upon receipt of check Cash check in my bank, deduct my funds needed and wire the remaining funds to: Margarita Lozada, Deltona, FL 32738, USA with my Name, address. There are just a few misused words in the instructions that may clue one to the fact the speaker does not have English as a first language. Such as......'because we have temporarily close (sic) down our United Kingdom office to avoid internet fraud. Email us immediately at jmfast23aol.co so that we can report this fraud.' Thanks for your posting! It clued me in to move on. Joyce Des Moines, IA |
| Sponsored Links |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| MFG quote/internet contracts..fraud exposure? | Sprew | General Metal Working Machines | 24 | 11-14-2007 04:45 AM |
| eBay fraud warning | Frank_NY | CNCzone Club House | 0 | 01-03-2007 02:19 PM |
| Ebay fraud, vector graphics | mcmmach | CNCzone Club House | 1 | 06-28-2005 11:20 AM |
| PayPal Scam Alert | ToyMaker | CNCzone Club House | 0 | 07-18-2003 09:50 AM |