Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Scam on CNCzone classifieds

  1. #1
    Registered Litografa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    776
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Scam on CNCzone classifieds

    Hello,
    Not sure that this is right place for topic - moderators can move it to proper place.
    I have placed two classifieds here, and two times same day I have got letters from e-mail: samnino45@yahoo.com

    First e-mail was:
    For sale - ROLAND PC 60
    Hello Seller,
    In reference to your on-line placed advert, I will like to know if this item is still for sale and If it is, is the condition still remain as described in the advert?
    Kindly include your bottom price. I will be waiting for your response at your earliest convenience.
    Best Regards,
    Sam.

    When I sent confirmation that product is available, I have got second mail AND THE PAYMENT FORM WAS :
    Hello,

    Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to read from you. I am okay with the price of the item and its condition as well. Kindly consider it sold.
    However, I will be paying you with a cashier's check. If you can provide me with the name and address to send this to, I will issue it out as soon as possible.
    As for the shipment, I will prefer to take care of that. I will hire a hauling company to come for the pick-up of the item. I'm sure this will be okay with you.
    Thanks very much. I will be waiting to read from you soon.

    Best Regard,
    Sam.

    BEWARE SCAM!


  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18,952
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I went through one of those with an item I placed on Kijiji.
    What is going to happen is that you most likely will get a Bona-Fide looking MO drawn on one of your local banks and it might be sent by overnight Fedex!
    It will be for an amount possibly $1000.00 higher than your item is worth, you will be asked to cash the MO, take out your $100.00 for e.g. and send the rest to someone in, who knows where, an address will be supplied for you to Wire him the money, but you MUST do it right away.
    3 weeks later you bank will advise you that the MO is bogus and you are on the hook for the whole amount.
    I took the MO to the bank and got them to verify its validity and they told me to tear it up.
    But he said it would most likely have got past a teller, especially if you had an account at that bank.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design (Skype Avail).

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.


  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    34
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Sam,
    From what you have typed, and except for the odd language used, it doesn't look like a scam.
    It's what will happen next that will be the scam. If I remember correctly, he will send a fake check (with too much money) and try to get you to pay the hauler for him. If you let the hauler pick the item up and you pay the hauler, he will have the item and hauling money, and the check will turn out to be bad. Best to receive the check and have your bank verify the account before you deposit it (avoiding a deposited returned check fee to you). Then only release the item "AFTER" the check clears your bank. You may think about asking for a US Postal money order, then wait for it to clear. That way the Government can investigate as a postal fraud if it is a stolen money order.
    Also, if you pay the hauler, you are the shipper and responsible for damages. If he pays the hauler, then he is the shipper and it is his responsibility if lost or damaged. Joe


  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    34
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    looks like Al is a faster typist than I am. Joe


  • #5
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    18,952
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Actually the scammer is not interested in even picking your item up, he just claims that a freight company will call at his cost.
    I had another for a luxury auto, nice mercedes with a steal of a price with a local phone number, which turned out to be a local hotel.
    I emailed and I got the owner (a woman) to send me the VIN number which turned out a valid vehicle, the car was registered in Cal, but it was in Vancouver and once I paid him/her via Paypal he would ship the car and if I did not like it, he would pay the return shipping and refund my money.
    'She' had recently divorced and her husband told her to sell the car and send him the money. An old one!
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design (Skype Avail).

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.


  • #6
    Company Representative gio666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,272
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Litografa View Post
    Hello,
    Not sure that this is right place for topic - moderators can move it to proper place.
    I have placed two classifieds here, and two times same day I have got letters from e-mail: samnino45@yahoo.com

    First e-mail was:
    For sale - ROLAND PC 60
    Hello Seller,
    In reference to your on-line placed advert, I will like to know if this item is still for sale and If it is, is the condition still remain as described in the advert?
    Kindly include your bottom price. I will be waiting for your response at your earliest convenience.
    Best Regards,
    Sam.

    When I sent confirmation that product is available, I have got second mail AND THE PAYMENT FORM WAS :
    Hello,

    Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to read from you. I am okay with the price of the item and its condition as well. Kindly consider it sold.
    However, I will be paying you with a cashier's check. If you can provide me with the name and address to send this to, I will issue it out as soon as possible.
    As for the shipment, I will prefer to take care of that. I will hire a hauling company to come for the pick-up of the item. I'm sure this will be okay with you.
    Thanks very much. I will be waiting to read from you soon.

    Best Regard,
    Sam.

    BEWARE SCAM!
    I got the same thing on all machines i have for sale

    Z AXIS Hello Seller, In reference to your on-line placed advert, I will like to know if this item is still for sale and If it is, is the condition still remain as described in the advert?Kindly include your bottom price. I will be waiting for your response at your earliest convenience.
    Best Regards,Sam.
    http://www.cnczone.com/classifieds/s...p?product=4170

    if you search the emails address , you will see they contact everywhere to buy everything

    samnino45@yahoo.comsamnino45@yahoo.com
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Scam on CNCzone classifieds-9-18-2010_6-32-57_.png  
    XZero CNC


  • #7
    Company Representative gio666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,272
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    $9.999 USD for Z axis , must have a lot of money to waste
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Scam on CNCzone classifieds-cnczone_scam.jpg  
    XZero CNC


  • Similar Threads

    1. Ebay Scam!
      By Switcher in forum CNCzone Club House
      Replies: 17
      Last Post: 07-03-2009, 11:18 AM
    2. Is this scam email which seems to come from cnczone ?
      By vroemm in forum CNCzone Club House
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 02-12-2009, 08:13 AM
    3. Beware of scam
      By honda in forum General Metalwork Discussion
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 11-02-2008, 09:52 AM

    Posting Permissions


     


    About CNCzone.com

      We are the largest and most active discussion forum from DIY CNC Machines to the Cad/Cam software to run them. The site is 100% free to join and use, so join today!

    Follow us on

    Facebook Dribbble RSS Feed


    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.