Build Thread DIY hobby small plastics mill/router

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: DIY hobby small plastics mill/router

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default DIY hobby small plastics mill/router

Hi, this is an informal build log of my little hobby CNC machine.

I'm not a machinist (or a woodworker) so this machine is a little hard to categorise as it was designed for machining of small plastics, for cutting small prototypes and testing models and ideas (I'm a robotics designer). Anyway, hopefully this is the right section of the forum to put this.

The machine is being built over many months and has evolved during the build before ever being finished using bits from many sources. That's probably pretty common looking at some build threads haha. The baseplate was left over from another robotics project and is 10mm alloy which was already surface ground to be very flat.

At some point I decided to make a small "router" (plastics mill is probably a better term?) based around this base plate. A fixed gantry moving table design was chosen for the increased rigidity and precision. Speed and convenience are secondary because this machine will do a lot of tedious little fiddly machining jobs, so a moving gantry style was not needed.

I picked up a nice hard piece of anodised T6061 T651 for the gantry in 10mm plate. It's not surface ground but was sawed and treated well, it was basically new and straight when I got it. This was sawed into a "L" shape to make the fixed gantry. The L shape means it has zero gantry flex (trapezoidal).

To reduce gantry flex in the other directions I made 2 side supports out of scrap triangular pieces of 16mm alloy, cut on the bandsaw and carefully squared by hand. Most of the 16mm and 10mm plate on the machine was cut on a bandsaw and finished with a linisher and filed etc.