3' x 4', welded steel frame...critique wanted!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3' x 4', welded steel frame...critique wanted!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default 3' x 4', welded steel frame...critique wanted!

Hello,

I've spent some money so I guess I'm into it now.

Intro: I'm a recent mechanical engineering grad, which probably means I don't know anything AND I'm too cocky to admit it. I learned a lot about machine design in college but there's no substitute for experience...that much I've learned from experience.

Anyway, the plans:

- Welded steel frame, 2"x2"x1/8" tube
    - Linear profiled rails/bearings
    - Double ball screws on the X
    - Nema 23s

Main goals:

- Frame rigidity, minimized vibration and flex
    - Accuracy / repeatability
    - Long z-axis travel

Not as important:

- Anything happening soon... it will still take me a long time before I see any woodchips flying
    - Cutting speed
    - Precision / resolution. I'm carving wood, not etching a circuit board.
    - Cost. If (when) I run out of money, I'll slow down, save up, and get back to it when I can

Main questions:

- How perfect do my rails have to be for the bearings to slide easily/properly?
    - - My plan is to have the X axis rail beds machined both at once at a local machine shop. It took me a while to find, but there's a shop nearby that has the capability to cut 3' x 4' in a single setup.
    - - Is this necessary? Or can I just cut the rail beds on a manual mill one at a time?
    - Are there disadvantages to having the Y axis rails on top of / underneath the gantry instead of on the front? Most machines have them on the front.
    - - I put them on the top and bottom to keep the Z axis closer to the gantry...didn't want it sticking out farther than it had to.
    - - I can machine both Y axis rail beds at the same time on a standard manual mill so they will be perfect relative to each other
    - Are my gantry ends strong enough?