2nd build - For a friend

Page 1 of 16 123411 ... LastLast

Thread: 2nd build - For a friend

Downloads
    Uploads

Default 2nd build - For a friend

Hi All -

About 3 years ago I started building a CNC router. Used it for just a little while and quickly embarked on an upgrade. The upgraded version turned out pretty well. Very accurate. Not perfect but good enough to learn on as I have no machining experience. Its rack and pinion drive on the X and Y and a ballscrew linear actuator for the Z and NEMA 23 steppers all around . I used a lot of parts from CNC Routerparts.com, NEMA 23 motors, their PRO motor mounts, rack mounts for the rack and pinion gear and a few other things. I used off the shelf parts in critical areas where I felt that my skills were only marginal and the better solution already existed. Just had to pay the man. I built the homing and limit switches for it from the thread on here and that turned out well.

I've done a few things for people now and one of those was for the local Boy Scout troupe. They were building kayaks and each kayak had about 12 frames for the structure. I think there were about 12 kayaks in total so this involved a lot of parts but a lot of repetition. Perfect for a CNC router. The job went very well and I was glad I could contribute.

So my friend is a incredibly talented woodworker and his son was one of the Scouts and he liked my router. About a year later, his wife approached me discretely and asked if I could build one for him for his 50th birthday. I had learned a lot since building my first one and I wanted to build another one but I didnt need one or have room for it. But I would love to build one for a friend I jumped at the chance. So this will be the chronicle of my 2nd build. I'm open to suggestions so share them if you have them.

Design goals:

1 - Reliability. This is going to get turned over to someone else. It has to be user friendly and it has to be stone cold reliable.