Need Help! 1/4" aluminum perf with 1/2" holes

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1/4" aluminum perf with 1/2" holes

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default 1/4" aluminum perf with 1/2" holes

I've got a job coming up where I need to make some perforated panels out of 1/4" aluminum. The perf holes are 1/2" diameter holes and I'm trying to figure out what sort of 1/2" bit I could use to accomplish this. One place that I get bits from recommended that I just use a 1/2" drill bit. Does anyone have experience doing this type of work or any suggestions? A single panel is going to take me 4 hours to cut if I use a 1/2" bit so I really don't want to go smaller than that but I have zero experience with 1/2" bits and aluminum. The only thing I've cut with that size bit is acrylic. Any advice is GREATLY appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: 1/4" aluminum perf with 1/2" holes

You don't say what machine you are using, but I would use a 1/2 inch, 135° split point, solid carbide, screw machine bit.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I'm using a Multicam 3000 series. Would you have a recommended rpm and plunge rate for such a bit?

Downloads
    Uploads

Another option for clean, burr free holes.
    Fractional Rotabroach Cutters

Downloads
    Uploads

I got a job like that a couple of months back, 4 ft.X 8 ft. plain sheet stainless, I think you can achieve a faster working time making holes on a CNC controlled plasma machine, it took me 16 minutes on putting holes on a whole 4 ft. by 8 ft. plain stainless sheet, 8mm think, aluminum is like a cake on the plasma machine, I guess you can achieve more faster cutting time on it.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by SugarFox5 View Post
    I'm using a Multicam 3000 series. Would you have a recommended rpm and plunge rate for such a bit?
    If you have enough spindle HP, I would start out at about 8000 RPM and about 40 IPM. Lots of coolant.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads