Need Help! Tsugami NP32 Programming

Thread: Tsugami NP32 Programming

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Tsugami NP32 Programming

OK, so we have this Tsugami NP32 that's been sitting in the back of the shop for the year and a half I've been here and then some. I fired it up the other day and everything seems to work fine, so I decided to try and figure it out.

It has a FANUC control, looks like an O type.

I'm new to these swiss types, but have been programming turning centers for a few years. Nobody where I work knows anything about the beast and all I have found are some old faded tore up manuals and oil soaked notes.

What I am struggling with are these lines:

G300 U-5.183 W6.4
    G50X1.147 Z-0.03

I think that U-6.3 equals the distance from X1 axis machine origin to the centerline, but I'm not sure what you need to do to calculate what this value will be from part program to part program. Same with the G50 line.

You see, I'm used to "regular" turning centers. When I switch part programs I set the G54 to program zero and typically face off the part and then touch off my tools to this face (program 0). I'm guessing that these lines perform a similar function?

I'm missing something on these swiss machines, perhaps I need to change my thinking.

Come to think of it, I'm not sure how I would touch tools off, but I really haven't got that far yet.

If anybody out there is familiar with this machine or one similar and can offer any advice, both in the programming and or setup, I would be forever in your debt.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

I used to run that machine many moons ago. I run swiss now just not that model.
    Swiss are a"different" breed. You will need to change the way you think. These machines work GREAT but you need to accept the way the machine thinks and work with it that way or it will drive you crazy.