How snug should the carbide collet be?

Thread: How snug should the carbide collet be?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default How snug should the carbide collet be?

I'm new to swiss, and I didn't get the manuals with this machine.

How snug should the forward collet be adjusted? Should it be a slip fit, or slightly tight?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: How snug should the carbide collet be?

The "Carbide collet" is called a Guide Bushing on Swiss machines.

The tightness of the GB is a "magic feel" you will develop over time. Its dependent on:
    how consistent your stock is
    what tolerance you're trying to hold
    how large the stock is
    stock material
    probably a couple other factors too.

In general, I set my guide bushings so that you can move the bar back and forth with a firm grip with moderate resistance (meaning it takes about 50% of my strength to slide the stock). For smaller stock, a 1 or 2 finger pinch may be all that is necessary. For larger stock, a firm grip and nearly full muscle strength may be needed.

Things to consider:
    If you are using non ground stock, you need to mic the bar and find the high spot, then set the tension on a high spot. Otherwise you can jam up or pretzel the stock between the collet and bushing. If you are using ground stock or your stock is very consistent, you can set it tighter.

How closely does the GB diameter match your stock diameter? your stock should never be larger than your GB nominal bore, and no more than -.001 ideally. (I have gotten away with -.002 to -.005 in extreme cases where I just had to make something work, but its far from ideal to compress a bushing more than .001"). accuracy decreases, runout increases as your stock goes undersized compared to the bushing.

What tolerance are you trying to hold? if you're trying to hold +0 -.0003", your bushing will need to be tighter than if you have ±.001. Same goes for ±.005.