How flat should my spoilboatd be?

Thread: How flat should my spoilboatd be?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default How flat should my spoilboatd be?

I am new to CNC and have been working for a few weeks to tune everything. I have a pro 4896. So far I have gone through one spoilboard trying to get things right. At this point, I am wondering if I have it as good as it can get.
    This has been a real learning experience. I ran through the leveling and surfacing routine several times. Then I tried to flatten the spoilboard,3 times with attempting adjustments. I am using an amana 2+2 insert bit that is 1.5in wide. For testing the cut i am using a 90% stepover. But, I keep seeing tool markings. I even used a tramming indicator with a piece of glass and attempted doing the whole level the glass and test and redo. But, my glass isn't flat. So, i can't trust anything because I have no reference that I know is actually flat. Thought about getting a reference granite plate. But want to ask you people before doing anything else.
    I can take pictures later of needed. The tool markings left are noticeable, but I think this is inevitable with any machining. I would always see the lines, right? Is it possible to get a surface flat with the bit without seeing any tool marks? I have looked online at so many videos and pictures. And I swear they look perfect.I know I'm using a big bit too. I will decrease my stepover in the final pass.
    But what is the reasonable way it should look after surfacing? Should i always see the tooling lines and sighs the stepover have a fuzzy strip?
    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated. I'm going nuts.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by ubergeekseven; 08-28-2017 at 11:17 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: How flat should my spoilboatd be?