My new machine...if I only knew how to use it

Thread: My new machine...if I only knew how to use it

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default My new machine...if I only knew how to use it

Hello all, here are some pic's and a description of the new machine I bought.
    I'm brand new to cnc milling...but starting to put the picture together. I could use all the input I can get. The X & Y axis are table movements rather than gantry and y-car. The Z is stationary.
    The table is 2 - 1/2" alum plate (1" thick). The x & y "tables" are 1/2" alum plate. The rails are 1" solid stainless rod with Thomson SPB-16 super pillow blocks. It's built like a Sherman tank and weighs 1200 - 1500 lbs or more???
    The spindle is a Precise (D-W5653 Leichlingen 1 Germany)
    Type S 65, 120v AC, .5 HP, 5.6 Amp, 45000 RPM
    The Steppers are Superior Electric Synchronous/Stepping Motors
    Type M091-FD09, 1.7volt, 4.7amp DC, 200 step per rev., hold 150 oz. in.
    It was being used with an older computer, 465 meg processor running Mach3. I thought I read somewhere that you needed at least 1 gig processor to run Mach. I plan on replacing the computer before running the machine. Does not look like a home built machine. The fellow I got it from had been using it but it had sat in his basement the last few months. Anyone tell me what I got? Good, bad, ugly? Any ideas on controlling spindle speed? Thanks!

--Rick

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My new machine...if I only knew how to use it-cnc1-jpg   My new machine...if I only knew how to use it-cnc2-jpg   My new machine...if I only knew how to use it-cncstep-jpg   My new machine...if I only knew how to use it-snsspindle-jpg  

Gold Member
    Downloads
    Uploads

That's a nice looking machine! They way it was built it takes up a lot more floor space than if the gantry moved, but if you got the space, it's great!

It looks like you have ballscrews too!