Hi everybody, looking for input on how to do my research

Thread: Hi everybody, looking for input on how to do my research

Downloads
    Uploads

Talking Hi everybody, looking for input on how to do my research

Brand new to the forum but have a really strong desire to build a hobby size CNC machine for wax molds and wood carving. This forum is so well established and fleshed out that trying to search for information relating to my situation has been really hard. I have zero experience with creating something like this so I'm trying to start with the absolute basics:

How to select rails for your machine
    How to determine what torque motor suits my needs
    Information on controllers and their features
    CNC route planning software

If anybody could point me in the right direction for forum posts I'd really appreciate it, also if this isn't the right place to post this I apologize!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Hi everybody, looking for input on how to do my research

How to select rails for your machine
    Depends on your budget and expectations.
    Cheapest is skate bearings rolling on pipe.
    Best and most expensive are profile linear rails like THK or Hiwin.
    How to determine what torque motor suits my needs
    Again, depends on your budget and expectations. It's determined by how fast you want the machine to be, how quick you want it to accelerate, how much weight your moving, and the type of drive system you're using.

Since you have zero experience, a kit or ready to run machine may be a better option. What is your budget, and what size machine are you looking for.
    For someone wanting to build a machine, with no experience, I'd recommend reasing every build thread here, and everything else you can, for 2-3 months, before you spend ANY money. You need to have a good understanding of how everything works, and what you need.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]