Need Help! How long does CNC machining wood take ? ( need to find some info about my CNC )

Thread: How long does CNC machining wood take ? ( need to find some info about my CNC )

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question How long does CNC machining wood take ? ( need to find some info about my CNC )

Hello all,
    I'm experimenting with some wood cutting on CNC, and its taking forever I know this depends on huge lots of things, but lets look at one special case from today.

I did cut small picture frame which is about 180mm x 180mm

Roughing was done by 6mm end mill this was fairly quick 30 min and finishing by "Solid Carbide 2mm Dia Spiral 2 Flutes Ball Nose End Mill CNC Engraving Bit ( from ebay, china )" not so quick as this took 9 hours to finish :-/ is this normal ? ( I have no experience... ) My feed rate was 20% ( I know this doesn't tell you anything, see my note about feed rate bellow) but later I tried up to 35% and it went faster but any more and I think the bit will break

The feed rate: Well this is issue I had for some time, simple answer.. I don't know. I have Chinese CNC ( this one: https://goo.gl/RZMNgV ) and not sure how to tell what the percentage mean in terms of mm/min

Spindle RPM: another value I'm not sure about. The controller show the speed in Hz ( see picture:, this is max value I usually use like 80% of it) I would like to find out though...

CAM: I used Aspire from Vetric to generate the G-code. It took in account the roughing part when generated finishing path ( the finishing path was in one stroke, didn't have to move twice the same path. )

Bits: For the finish I used "Solid Carbide 2mm Dia Spiral 2 Flutes Ball Nose End Mill CNC Engraving Bit" ( from ebay, china )

Video in real time:

I'm bit paranoid now, cause I broke so many bits ( not this one yet though, I have 5 more so I might try to push it )