router bit reccomendations

Thread: router bit reccomendations

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default router bit reccomendations

I have a new Colex Sharpcut with CNC Router for the shop and I'm working on getting a JCut set up for home use.

my questions is bits.

What are your go-to sizes and profiles, and where do you get them from?
    Looking for a good balance between price and durability.
    As a complete newbie to CNC Routing, I expect that I will break a LOT of bits as i'm starting out, so I don't want to be spending a fortune on a single bit, would rather have a cheaper bit that might not be as high of quality to practice with while i'm learning.

Thank you!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: router bit reccomendations

The choice of bits really depends on what you plan to do with them. If you're cutting large shapes out of plywood, that's going to take different bits than if you're doing 3D work in plastic.

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

A 1/8-1/4 concrete nail is the cheapest I can think of on a practice tool bit, sharpened to a single flute, you`ll be amazed how durable it is when you master the art of custom sharpening in fact I still use the technique today on thicker materials that no other tool bit available locally that long (100mm. above) to cut through it.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by KH0UJ View Post
    A 1/8-1/4 concrete nail is the cheapest I can think of on a practice tool bit, sharpened to a single flute, you`ll be amazed how durable it is when you master the art of custom sharpening in fact I still use the technique today on thicker materials that no other tool bit available locally that long (100mm. above) to cut through it.
    no sarcasm there at all. LOL

primarily for 3D CNC routing of either oak, MDF, or plywood.