New Machine Build Good starting point for a CNC6040

Thread: Good starting point for a CNC6040

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Good starting point for a CNC6040

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the cnc world and am looking to get a first cnc machine. I would like to work with wood, some aluminum and pcb boards.

I know that Chinese machines are to be avoided for their electronics, so I'm planning on starting off with a 6040 frame and adding my own electronics to it.

I was looking at the following frame;

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/6040...311.0.0.FZrop0

and would like to get your opinionif this is a good frame to start off with?

Any advice is more than welcome (also for the electronics part).

Thanks in advance,

David

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Good starting point for a CNC6040

It says it won't do "milling working" on metals, but if all you want to do is "surface working" it might be adequate. What spindle is supposed to fit in that bracket they supply? For over $800, I think you can do better ordering your own parts; this is just a kit, after all, not an assembled machine. The ball screws, for example, can be found here for $26: https://www.banggood.com/400mm-Ball-...p-1018725.html . The slides are also available elsewhere for not too much: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00QTFBXCE?psc=1 (although profile rails would work much better). Aside from that, what are you getting? Some pieces of aluminum extrusion and the gantry sides, it looks like. The shipping is confusing too - if they really are stocked in US warehouses as they claim, charging $189.47 to get it to you here seems a bit high. But hey, at least you won't have to deal with "backflash"...

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads