Newbie Planning to buy AccTek AKG6090

Thread: Planning to buy AccTek AKG6090

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Planning to buy AccTek AKG6090

Hello everyone.

I thought I would start a thread to document my experiences with choosing/buying my first CNC router for woodworking.

The first thing I should say is that woodworking is a hobby I've had for many years but I'm new to the world of CNC. I've therefore been researching CNC routers for a few months now trying to find what machine would offer decent performance/longevity without being prohibitively expensive (given this is just a hobby). In case anyone else is in a similar situation, this was my thought process - although I've been going around in circles a fair bit!

Ox CNC/X-Carve
    My first thought was to build the Ooznest version of the Mark Carew Openbuilds Ox CNC. Ooznest is based in the UK where I live and the kit looks comprehensive, relatively inexpensive and fairly straightforward to build. Rightly or wrongly, I was put off by the use of timing belts rather than lead- or ball-screws, and the use of V-slot plus polycarb wheels, which I could see becoming contaminated with chips and leading to premature wear/loss of accuracy. I was also a bit worried about how it would cope with hardwoods given the relatively light construction and use of a router rather than a spindle. I had similar concerns with the X-Carve, although I have no doubt that these machines have their place, given the fairly low price point.

Stepcraft 2