CNC 3040 - New To CNC

Thread: CNC 3040 - New To CNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC 3040 - New To CNC

Hi Guys

So im new to the cnc world Iv got a few 3d printers so im ok with some things.

Iv bought myself a cheap Chinese cnc 3040 and iv just managed to get it up and running with mach3.

But can someone explain to me how im meant to use this machine? Hopefully someone has also got the same one.

If you look at my pics you will see what i mean.

The mill bit cannot be lowered enough to touch the mdf im trying to mill? So i thought ok i need a spoil borad not a problem. So turns out i need about 4 boards for it to reach the MDF.

Any ideas i feel like im going insane.

https://1drv.ms/f/s!AjG7N9TuKSm8oEMyfeGk5NXczmQ8

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CNC 3040 - New To CNC

I don't have a machine exactly like yours, but is your z lowering to it's full capability. I'd guess it's not. You should be able to jog the Z down until the bit is at the top of the material and then zero the Z prior to starting the cut. Unlike your 3d printer which always starts the build at the top of the bed, a cnc router or engraver needs to know where the top of the material is before each new operation because of different material thickness. You may also have a setting(s) in your driver software which reaches the set input limit (and stops further movement) prior to reaching as far as it needs to go. I'm not sure what driver software etc you are using or what depth of cut etc you used when producing the cut file so suggestions beyond what I've already said are hard to offer, If you bought it new contact the seller for initial setup instructions. If you bought it used, you should be able to find some documentation online with a little searching.

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi

Thanks for that. I have contacted the seller and im waiting for a response but the z axis wont go down any further.