Need Help! Chatter Issue with a IH - Please help

Thread: Chatter Issue with a IH - Please help

Downloads
    Uploads

Angry Chatter Issue with a IH - Please help

I'm having a horrible chatter issue when using a 1/2 carbide End mill in 6061 aluminum. Cant seem to locate the issue. I thought maybe it was the spindle so I took it apart and checked the bearings and everything seemed fine - put it back together and adjusted the pre-load and same issue. Took it apart again and replaced the bearings with angular contact bearings. Same issue.

Depth of cut .125 - feed 11.5 @ 3000 RPM - 1" Stickout - 2 flute HTC Carbide end MIll

I have tried slowing the cut down and increasing the RPM but the resonance is still there. I have the column filled with Epoxy Granite so should have some extra stiffness.

I'm new to this hobby so maybe that is just too deep of cut but I can take a heavier cut with a 1/4" end mill. Also, when i'm done with the cut the bit is cool to the touch so its not like its forced through the stock.

Any suggestions??? I have a lot of stuff to cut out this holiday weekend and if i have to use my 1/4" bits its going to be a long weekend :-)

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Chatter Issue with a IH - Please help

No One???

Downloads
    Uploads

I would check out some F&S calculators, such as FS wizard. I think for .125 DOC and .200 WOC you should be moving more like 35 IPM. Check your end mill for any chips in carbide. I would just use HSS tooling 2 Flute for ALUM. Cheap great results and you don't cry as hard when you make a mistake.

Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the reply vertcnc - I actually use GWizard -

I forgot to mention that I am doing a pocket so when I first start the cut it does a long slot so I would have a 180 Degree contact angle on the bit and that is when it sounds the worst - obviously because i'm cutting the most material. The bits are new.