Newbie Understanding metal castings

Thread: Understanding metal castings

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Understanding metal castings

Hi
    I'm starting new in the metal casting and just more of a hobby then anything else. I have built a home made foundry using the instructions available on internet with PoP and sand. I'm planning using styrofoam to carve some designs and pour molten aluminium on it over this weekend to make it sturdy.
    My question is - What benefits does aluminium metal casting have over say papier mache or just using plaster of paris to create designs on its own. Apologies if the questions comes across as a layman question but as said earlier - Im pretty new to this .if someone can let me know what are the advantages of this - that will be awesome .

john.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Really? You are comparing aluminum and paper mache? I wouldn't even know how to start.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Understanding metal castings

I'd say stick to the paper mache and plaster. You can get seriously hurt by melting aluminum and pouring it on things. No matter what you might have seen on YouTube, this is not something you should attempt without knowing what you're doing, or at least having someone who does know what they're doing standing by - physically present - with both of you wearing the proper safety equipment, like full leathers, gloves, cap, gaiters, goggles, and mesh face shield. The least little bit of water residue in your mold or equipment will cause a steam explosion when that molten metal hits it, that will send 1000-degree metal bits flying everywhere. Trust me - I've been there; you don't want to be...

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by awerby View Post