Newbie Casting vs CNC maching and other things

Thread: Casting vs CNC maching and other things

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Casting vs CNC maching and other things

Hi. I'm a newbie on a learning curve.

I have some questions, I hope I'm doing right asking them in this topic area.

Imagine a 2" square brass plate 3/8" thickness. And that I wanted a single character/font to stand out in relief, say 1/32th" (or about 1mm) in height. To achieve that relief, one can have the part cast (as in sand casted), or CNC machined. Of course, one might end up, depending on the character, milling out 80% or more of the front surface area.

Okay:

* I presume that milling to a depth of say, 1mm, is not engraving, but CNC machining?

* If I wanted to make 50 of the items a week, would you CNC machine the items or get them casted?

I like the idea of getting a CNC machine, but realize that casting might be a no-brainer from a cost perspective.

I wonder if anyone else here has faced the issue of choosing between casting or CNC machining and what was learned.

Thanks. Rich

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

This seems like a situation that could go either way. Mastering them on the mill makes sense if you've got one; you can make a pattern board for sandcasting pretty easily. 50/week is small for a casting run, and fairly reasonable for machining. On the other hand, if you wanted 500 of them, the economics of casting would prevail, I'd think, and you would have enough of them to do something else with your mill for the next 10 weeks.

Yes, milling to a depth of 1 mm around a letter is called Face Milling.
    I don't see CNC milling as antagonistic to casting; it's a tool that makes it easier to do many casting-related tasks.

Andrew Werby
    www.computersculpture.com

marcusCA

How many total will you do?
    If this is only a series of 50 I would probably mill them all and be down with the batch.