Permanent Mold Casting

Thread: Permanent Mold Casting

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Permanent Mold Casting

Oh wow! I didn't realize there was a casting section in this CNC forum! Sweet!

So I was just wondering if anyone has any good resources for permanent mold casting with aluminum. A good link, an engineering book, a simplified DIY book/links perhaps...

I'm just getting started so any info is appreciated!

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default permanent mold casting

i can only tell me experiences with permanent mold casting.
    with cast iron into a cast iron mold the mold wall need to be thick. i have had castings stuck to the mold a few times.
    had a drop of water (rain) in a mold once. when molten cast iron hit it it was like being in the middle of a fire works explosion. not so pretty when your in the center of sparks / molten metal flying in all directions.
    found out using an oxygen acetylene torch with oxygen off you get a smokey flame that preheats, dries out water, and coats metal with soot to help keep metal from sticking to mold.
    you need a lot of draft or taper, smooth surfaces and allowance for metal to shrink with out it grabbing the mold.
    it is lot easier to use a lower melting point metal like babbit or zamak. i have pouring lead sinkers into an aluminum mold without any problems. they sell blank molds for making fishing sinkers. all you got to do is machine them and a gate / funnel to pour metal in them.
    i never made any die casting molds where metal is injected under pressure. i believe their are many books on die casting. try searching Amazon.com

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I know.
    Im late.
    For permanant mold casting of Aluminum, Cast Iron works best. Specifically I use Dura Bar. It is a special cast iron and you can get it in many sizes.
    Either G1 or G2 will work fine for molds. It is about $1.00 per pound right now.