Dynamic Brake failure

Thread: Dynamic Brake failure

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Dynamic Brake failure

I powered up my Powerpath 15 today, homed it and loaded a program. I never turned the spindle on. Approximately 5 minutes later I heard the drives shut down and an error on the screen that said "Dynamic Brake Failure" I hit escape as I was prompted rebooted the machine and couldn't get the fault to clear.

I checked fuses and I checked the resistance on the braking resistor and they were OK. Any suggestions?? I'm not an electrician and my skills are pretty weak in this area. Is there something that routinely goes bad with these? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Pete

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Gncc50 View Post
    I powered up my Powerpath 15 today, homed it and loaded a program. I never turned the spindle on. Approximately 5 minutes later I heard the drives shut down and an error on the screen that said "Dynamic Brake Failure" I hit escape as I was prompted rebooted the machine and couldn't get the fault to clear.

I checked fuses and I checked the resistance on the braking resistor and they were OK. Any suggestions?? I'm not an electrician and my skills are pretty weak in this area. Is there something that routinely goes bad with these? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Pete
    Is there an over-temperature sensor on the braking resistor? If so, it may have gone open or there is a bad connection between the sensor and the rest of the control. If no temp sensor, then something in the spindle drive has failed, or in some way is sensing the braking resistor is bad.
    Is this a braking resistor on the axis drives or the spindle drive?

Jon

Downloads
    Uploads