Downloads
    Uploads

Default Boss 5 to Mach 3 electrical help needed

I am starting to convert my mill and have the fiollowing components

Mach3 on a desktop computer
    keling drives. # KL-11080
    mach 3 breakout board purchased from ebay
    original Sigma steppers

I am a Machinist/Programmer by trade and not an electrician, so I am learning as I go. I have done a fair amount of home electrical work wiring the shop I built a couple years ago as well as small projects here and there. So I know a little, but electronics is new territory for me.

I connected a drive to a motor and wired the drive to the parallel port on the computer and got the X axis to move, but it only moves in one direction. I just wanted to make sure I would be able to get that far. Now I need to figure out how much of the electronics I can remove from both cabinets and how to power everything.

I have read a lot of threads here and on other forums. I am getting an understanding of the process, but have some questions.

Can I just rip off the control cabinet with the reader, drives, and power supply? If so, how do I control the spindle now?
    Also, do I just remove the three transformers in the power cabinet?I assume those were for the old drive.
    I would prefer to put everything in one cabinet. I have seen this done on threads here, but haven't seen clear information on the power side.

From what I have gathered so far is that it is wise to use the BOB and that it needs 5v to it to control the drives, is this correct? And I know the drives have their own power supply, so I just need 120v to each one. Can I get that from the main transformer?

I have also seen where a guy trimmed his main transformer down to a lower voltage, do I need to do that?

there is more, but I'll start here.

Similar Threads: