Newbie Recently Purchased Series II, can i run it with a VFD??

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Recently Purchased Series II, can i run it with a VFD??

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Recently Purchased Series II, can i run it with a VFD??

So i will start off by saying this, i am a machining beginner, and have dabbled with it for the past 13 years, but never had a machine of my own. I recently purchased this series II bridgeport from my work. I dont have 3 phase power, and had intended on running the machine with a VFD, i was able to locate one rated for the amperage i need. However i got to wondering how that would all work with the power feeds etc being all integral to the machine. Will they all work? I assume i will have to leave the VFD at 100%, which isnt a big deal since the variable speed works fine on the mill. Am i missing something here, or should i have gone with a rotary phase converter instead? Here are some pics of the machine for reference.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Recently Purchased Series II, can i run it with a VFD??

I would use a rotary phase converter, a VFD is really designed to change the speed of a motor electronically. The rotary phase converter will just output three phase which is what the mill really wants.
    Russ

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by CNCMAN172 View Post
    I would use a rotary phase converter, a VFD is really designed to change the speed of a motor electronically. The rotary phase converter will just output three phase which is what the mill really wants.
    Russ
    I agree that a phase converter is the best possible choice, but for now i am hoping to just get it up and running. Do you think the VFD will allow it to run until i can source a converter?

Downloads
    Uploads