Help

Thread: Help

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help

Hi all, I am having some trouble;s. I am fairly new to all this and I have been trying to cut this part since last night with no luck. No mater how I do it it just does not come out right. I have a X2 so I have to do this part in 4 sections, and flip it end for end to do the secon cut, then flip it around the y for the third cut, then flip it around the x for the final cut.

I built a jig to the peice and be able to flip it while maintaing zero. I am using a .125 endmill to do the profile, but when it cuts out the long slots at the top of either end, end up being about .125 to narrow.

I am sure I am doing something stupid, and just have a mind freeze.

My end mill is centered on 0,0 when I start. I do a profile of the section I want to cut in Bobcad, with .0625 off set.

I hope I am explaining things ok. Please see attached drawing of the original part. It is a part to Joes router.

Thanks
    Walt

Attached Files Attached Files

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by wdp67 View Post
    Hi all, I am having some trouble;s. I am fairly new to all this and I have been trying to cut this part since last night with no luck. No mater how I do it it just does not come out right. I have a X2 so I have to do this part in 4 sections, and flip it end for end to do the secon cut, then flip it around the y for the third cut, then flip it around the x for the final cut.

I built a jig to the peice and be able to flip it while maintaing zero. I am using a .125 endmill to do the profile, but when it cuts out the long slots at the top of either end, end up being about .125 to narrow.

I am sure I am doing something stupid, and just have a mind freeze.

My end mill is centered on 0,0 when I start. I do a profile of the section I want to cut in Bobcad, with .0625 off set.

I hope I am explaining things ok. Please see attached drawing of the original part. It is a part to Joes router.

Thanks
    Walt