Need Help! Best Text to use for Vcarving

Thread: Best Text to use for Vcarving

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Best Text to use for Vcarving

I am working on a cedar chest for my wife and I want to engrave txt into the lid. As a machinist by trade I usually use a simple font for engraving, but for this project I want to use something a little more fancy. I know there a people who do this sort of thing on here and would appreciate some suggestions.

Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Best Text to use for Vcarving

I would suggest draw what you want, convert to cad, engrave with Vectric

Been doing this too long

Downloads
    Uploads

If you are using vectric or artcam any windows font will work. Whats looks best depends on personal preference, your font size, v-bit size, tip angle and total depth (and you can add a flat bottom) so lots of variables. A few tests on scraps should sort it out for you.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

The choice really comes down to what you like, or rather what she likes. BobCAD uses the standard Windows fonts on the computer, and there are thousands of different ones that you can download, generally for free, off the internet. One thing to know is that a lot of the fancier ones were NOT drawn up by CAD folks. There are little areas of them that will need a little cleanup after they're vectorized. My go-to tools for this are Quick Trim, Line Join, and Deform Contour. Since you'll probably not be doing a wall of text, don't let cleanup bother you. It's not difficult or very time consuming to clean up a few words. In general, just find a font you like, size it, vectorize it, clean it up, then V-carve away.