2-axis ghetto cheap

Thread: 2-axis ghetto cheap

Downloads
    Uploads

Default 2-axis ghetto cheap

I've mentioned that I'm doing a super-cheap 2 axis conversion on my HF 44991 mill, and this thread shows my progress so far. But first, a word about my project.

I very much admire the conversions that Hoss, skmetal, Adam, and others have done or are doing. They are done right, and done with a very high level of quality and expertise. In fact, they're done the same way I would have done it myself a few years ago when I was machining for a living, and had almost unlimited resources for materials & machine access. Hat's off to you guys, keep up the great work and updates on your machines!

When I got my mill a few weeks ago, I had no immediate plans of CNC-ing it, until I saw what can be done. I decided to take my project in a different direction: how cheap & easy can someone do a 2-axis conversion? 2 axis is perfect for me, as I only plan on doing limited 2D profile machining on plastics or occasionally aluminum. The way it sits right now, I have about $140 into it. $100 for the complete 2 axis setup I got off ebay, and $40 for the timing pulleys & belt.