Not sure what I really need

Thread: Not sure what I really need

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Not sure what I really need

my primary interest right now is making parts for leaning reverse trike designs. Anything from aluminum spindles to steel plates to assorted linkage arms, etc. I also want to some day build a small scale working V8 or V12. I'm a programmer, comfortable in any language, and very familiar with 3d printers. Do I want a CNC router for plate making, or a real benchtop mill? I've been looking at a Grizzly 0755, PM45M-PDF, and Bolton ZX45A. Also 6040 CNC routers, probably OMNICNC X6-2000. The Grizzly does not have power down feed, but can be converted to CNC. Or is a 0704 enough machine for what I want to do? Do I really even need the CNC option, or should I learn to use a vertical mill manually, then upgrade later. I'd like to keep the cost below $5000, but can go higher. I would also consider Sherline or Taig if they can make the steel plates I'll need. Slow speed is not really a problem because this is all hobby work.

Thoughts?

David

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Not sure what I really need

If these are 'full scale' reverse trikes, then there is some significant engineering and moderately large pieces required so your 5K budget is liable to be blown getting a machine with capable capacity. Aluminium spindles ! ! ! are you for real? That's the world of steel and a lathe all day long. The larger 'hobbyist' machines may cope with a typical suspension upright or hub in aluminium but likely to be on the edge of its envelope? I've probably got 3K in my CNC'd X2 including tooling for an example so you may have to revise your ambitions IMO.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads