Sieg super X3 vs RF-45 clone

Thread: Sieg super X3 vs RF-45 clone

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Sieg super X3 vs RF-45 clone

I'm looking to get my first milling machine for my home shop. I will be doing manual work on plastic and metal. I'm considering the Sieg Super X3 from grizzly or the RF-45 clone from lathemasters

I should note that I'm fairly new to machining and any advice is helpful. I'm looking for an easy to use machine that doesn't take much tweaking out of the box. The rf-45 has a speed quite a bit lower than the super x3, is that an issue or will most work be done using lower speeds anyway? I also noticed that the super x3 has a variable speed motor, while you need to change belts on the lathe master.

the rf-45 clone does have more power, something I don't need right now but may in the future. I will be considering converting to CNC a few years down the road.

My budget is about 2000 for mill and tooling, I'm looking for the best machine I can get or that price.

Thanks

talonosi

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

talonosi,

Question:

1. What type of metal Aluminum or Steel?
    " Speed is a huge issue for most of us using small machines. Most like to work in aluminum and you need quite a bit of spindle speed to get smaller endmills to work properly cutting aluminum."

Jeff

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

well, aluminum would be a primary candidate. the machine will be used for prototyping and primarily small (less than 4"x4"x4") pieces. You bring up a good point that I hadn't considered, A lot of what I plan to do will be small detailed parts, this definitely points more towards a higher RPM machine for working with smaller tools.

Currently I'm leaning toward the super x3 because I don't anticipate needing the added power of the lathemaster and the added weight could be an issue. I also like the vast amount of resources online for the popular x3. That will help since I'm beginner.

Registered