Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1/8" NTP Threads: Tap or mill?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default 1/8" NTP Threads: Tap or mill?

Hi all, I am trying to make a small aluminum manifold for a flood coolant system for my Taig 2019 CNC mill. I need to drill and tap 3 1/8" NPT holes into 6061 aluminum. I am pretty new to metalworking in general, so yesterday I picked up a cheap tap set at Harbor Freight that included a 1/8" tap. I drilled the hole properly and then set to tapping it. I got about 3/8" in before I felt like I would break the tap if I pushed any harder.

The problem, of course, is that NPT is tapered and I drilled a straight hole. Reading more about the subject, it seems I need a NPT reamer and to ream out the hole before tapping it. The cheapest reamer I can find is about $20 before shipping.

This got me thinking about the perfectly functional CNC mill I have sitting on my bench. Could I make this job easier with it?

I thought I'd ask and see if anyone has any suggestions for me. Consider me a total newbie but willing to learn and work

I want to drill and tap 3 1/8" NPT holes about 3/4" deep in 6061 aluminum. I have:
    Taig 2019 CNC mill
    1/6", 1/8" and 1/4" endmills
    A 1/8" NPT hand tap

I've been thinking that I could probably at least use the mill to "ream" the hole out without spending another $20 on a specialized tool. But what about thread milling? Can I buy a small thread mill and just throw my hand taps away forever?

I've also been thinking about making a tooling plate with a bunch of 10-32 holes in it and it would sure be easier to have my mil cut all those threads for me than to hand tap them all.

Thanks,
    Jason

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

A "Q" drill bit (.332) is just fine for a 1/8-27 NPT tap.
    You made it in 3/8, did you check the hole with the mating part, that's probably deep enough.
    5-7 threads worth of engagement is enough.
    Hoss