Dyna Myte 2400 -- Can Newbie Safely Buy for $400? Help?

Thread: Dyna Myte 2400 -- Can Newbie Safely Buy for $400? Help?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Dyna Myte 2400 -- Can Newbie Safely Buy for $400? Help?

Hi, gang,

Looking for advice. Will try to be brief!

Been wanting to learn hobby CNC to make PCBs and small parts for ham radio builds, etc -- not engine blocks or steam tractor parts (yet?)! I am a computer service tech (35 years), so I can handle COM and LPT ports, software in Windoze and Linux, etc, and a ham radio guy (with a reasonable electronics background). I understand milling and CNC operations from "a distance," but I have never used a milling machine other than my crappy, imported drill press (with its massive slop factor).

I just missed a Taig CNC mill, and a guy who was going to sell me a Chinese "tabletop plus" sized unit (from Tormach's R&D Dept) flaked out.

I could buy a mini mill and convert it to CNC, but I don't yet know any local CNC guys who I might coerce to help me if I get stuck. The electronics I get, but the mechanics are a complete mystery. To me, a jib (gib?) is a sail!

Anyway, as I'm sure you've all heard this story a thousand times, with minute variations, I'm thinking about buying a Dyna Myte 2400 from a seller about three hours away. The price will be between $300 and $400 (still negotiating). The seller is a veteran CNC mill op and bought the little mill from a school that was closing. He cleaned it up a bit and says that the unit spins up and the control panel can be used to "home" the spindle. He says the unit could stand additional cleaning and adjustment, but that it seems to be intact and serviceable.

Because of the distance (7 hour round trip), I probably won't drive there to just look at it. If I go I'll likely buy it and figure out what to do with it later (use it or re-sell it as is, etc).