Clearpath SDSK for mini mill?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Clearpath SDSK for mini mill?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Clearpath SDSK for mini mill?

I'm on the fence here and am hoping for some advice. I'm very new to CNC and recently finished a Sieg mini lathe conversion using an inexpensive Longs Motor package purchased off ebay. It uses ~390oz/in steppers running on 36v. I haven't experimented with too many setting but, from what I gather, these motors aren't being used to their full potential due to the relatively low power supply voltage. However, for testing, I installed one of them on the mini mill and, while not particularly fast, it seems plenty strong. Very unscientific, but I put a fair amount of my body weight (guessing at least 50 lbs) on the spindle housing and the motor easily raised the z-axis.

Before I started my entry into CNC and while researching stuff, I had my set my mind on a Clearpath system for the mini mill (Sieg X2D with CNC Fusion conversion kit). While the Teknik parts aren't that much more expensive compared to a higher end (i.e. purchased from a reputable US based shop) stepper setup, they are hugely spendy compared to a ~$220 complete ebay stepper package! So, as mentioned at the beginning of this post, I'm now on the fence trying to decide if I want to spend about 5-6 times as much on a servo system. I don't care for the stepper noise and resonance and I like the technology and coolness of the Clearpath servos but what to do?

If I do opt to spend the money, my mind is made up, it will be Clearpath motors. Anyone with (or without) experience with the Clearpath stuff care to offer up any advice or motivation...for or against? Also, I am unsure on what size motor I would want to use. The Teknik rep I've been conversing with, while very helpful, can't really commit to a particular motor as I don't think he knows much about the mini mill. Sizing suggestions would also be extremely helpful.

Thanks!