Assistance Requested with G0704 CNC

Thread: Assistance Requested with G0704 CNC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Assistance Requested with G0704 CNC

Hello!

I've recently converted a G0704 to CNC using an Automation Technologies kit. I've got no CNC, CAD, or CAM experience under my belt, and am hoping the G0704 will be a good learning tool for the next year. I've designed a part using Fusion 360, but I can't seem to correctly plot a tool path with the correct speeds and feeds to mill it. I purchased HSM Adviser hoping it would help me, but I'm either using it wrong or entering that information into Fusion 360 incorrectly. The end result is usually me blowinga fuse on the machine, snapping a mill, or stall. Anyways, here is a picture of my mill:

And this is the part I am trying to make:

Right now I'm simply trying to mill the part out of stock with a flat end mill. I haven't started on how to drill and chamfer the holes in the part. The part is being milled out of 5" x 2.5" x 2" 6061, and I'm trying to use a 1/2 HSS flat end mill. I don't really know how to choose the RPM, and the speeds and feeds in HSM Advisor appear to be to aggressive for my mill, even after selecting G0704 as my machine in HSM Advisor (somebody created a profile, seems to overestimate the abilities of the machine). I'm still learning Fusion 360, but if anyone is interested I'm more than happy to invite them to view/edit the part via email. I'd really appreciate any direction anyone cold offer, or a starting point! I'm just frustrating myself for hours on end and blowing these terrible 5mmx20mm tube fuses doing this on my own.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Assistance Requested with G0704 CNC-g0704-jpg   Assistance Requested with G0704 CNC-part-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Assistance Requested with G0704 CNC