Harp Fabricator 5 Axis CNC Machine

Thread: Harp Fabricator 5 Axis CNC Machine

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Harp Fabricator 5 Axis CNC Machine

Hey Guys!

I'm new to the forum I've been a machinist/millwright/fabricator all my life. I've come up with this new machine design it's a 5 Axis CNC moving table (not gantry) I designed to make turbopump impellers for rocket engines (my other hobby/job) I'd like to share the build with you and get criticism and ideas on the project from ya'll.

If this the right forum to present the build? As this is my first post I'm not sure if it's the appropriate place to start this. The build is about 60% complete and I'd like to get your input.

I guess a new guy can't upload a photo or there is a size limit?

Monroe Lee King Jr

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Harp Fabricator 5 Axis CNC Machine-20170119_133014_hdr-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Harp Fabricator 5 Axis CNC Machine

Looks interesting: the choice of dovetails instead of the hiwin style rails just because you could? The X frame looks plenty chunky side to side but not a lot of meat/leverage front to back for stiffness would be a concern for me. I can't see the 4th/5th axis in the photo - still to come on the head or is there something tricky going on?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Lol I guess it did upload the image! Here's a photo of the base. The "U" shaped section is 1" thick plate or close to it I had to mill and flycut it a bit.

The base 4x5" bar. Why dovetails? Well IMO dovetails transfer vibration better and I can have control over the bearing surfaces. In other words I can make the bearing surface bigger or smaller depending on what I think is needed for good support.

This is a prototype so being able to change things without redesigning a major section of the machine is a bonus.

I wanted to use Iron but I'm trying it out in steel see how it goes.