Newbie Motorsizes?

Thread: Motorsizes?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Motorsizes?

Hello!

I am completely new to this world. I have a mill like BF20 ( I think its called). I have read a lot online of converting this mill to CNC. So I will now start to order parts for this build. The plan is to use Nema Steppermotors with "directdrive" for the X and Y axis. And mayby a bigger steppermotor with gear/belt for the Z axis. I will also change to ballscrews on all axis.

So now to my first questions. I have found kits on ebay with 3pcs of Nema 23 ( 3.0 Nm) inkl. powersuplly and drivers to a good price.

Does these Nema 23 motors fits for the job on all axis?
    Is it better to have a directdrive also on Z axis with a bigger motor or use the same Nema 23 with gears/belt?

All other inputs are also welcome. I plan to use Mach3 on my old desktop computer to run this. I am using autocad already for drawings so I will use that and then lazymill to convert to G-code.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Motorsizes?

In my experiences 23's work fine direct drive. I do run a 34 on the Z. What kit on Ebay?

A lazy man does it twice.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hi
    I have converted two mills, a minimill X2 and an Optimum BF30.

Using stepper motors is balancing act that really requires an idea of what feed rates you need on each axis.

My experience (hobby use) - using HSS tooling for steel / Ali / brass most cuts performed at 2" - 10" ipm. Rapid movements limited to 20ipm for safety.
    I have always used direct drive to ball screws. The X2 used nema 23 motors to BF30 uses nema34 motors.

I suspect that the nema23 setup will be ok as long as you don't want very high feed rates. Remember that using belt reduction for more torque means that the stepper is turning faster for the same feed rate - the stepper motor looses torque at high rpm so you can chase your tail.