X2 cnc finished for now maybe - Page 31

Page 31 of 53 FirstFirst ... 212829303132333441 ... LastLast

Thread: X2 cnc finished for now maybe

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by X2cnc View Post
    I've been waiting for you to put a stepper up there and turn the swivel head into a fifth axis!

You'd have to do B-axis motion by combining X and Z, though.

As a CNC newbie I'm still not sure what I would use a 5th axis for.
    Maybe someday, but I don't need to make any impellers right now.
    "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0u2xC60-oMI"]5-Axis Impeller Blade

It's already been done on a MaxNC.

"http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EYaM4FkASA"]5-axis milling demo

Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- [URL]http://www.g0704.com[/URL]

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Is the second machine cutting wood? Looks cool. But with the 5th axis, will it make the machine limited in terms of its capability in cutting harder metals like steel?

Downloads
    Uploads

Not if designed properly. You build some with low rigidity and obviously it can't handle but build and design it with strong rigidity and it will be ok.

-Jason

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by hoss2006 View Post
    Hey Gang,
    Finished my High Speed Spindle Motor attachment.
    Will use it mainly for engraving and grinding.
    Used a Dewalt Laminate Trimmer Model #DW670 I bought at Lowes.
    http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...670&lpage=none
    It has a 1/4 in. collet ( I made an 1/8 collet for it) and 34,000 rpm.
    Very nice quality item with no backlash in the spindle.
    Has a machined housing that fits nicely in the mount that I made to hold
    it perpendicular and true.
    Below are pics of the drawings and finished parts.
    The spindle is offset 3 in. from the X2 spindle on the X Axis as it's mounted here
    but it's able to mount on either side or the front.
    This should work well.
    Later Hoss