SIEG X2L CNC By new member.

Thread: SIEG X2L CNC By new member.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default SIEG X2L CNC By new member.

I am a new member here. Just joined today in fact.

I am not a professional, all of this is just for fun... playing, tinkering and entertainment during Covid19 Isolation.

I have recently bought a Australian Sheraton Type A lathe... It is amazing condition, almost like new and considering it is about 50 years old, works like new. I added a DRO to it without issues. (Some pictures attached).

So my skills are better than basic, but certainly not professional.

So I then went a step further and bought a brand new Sieg X2L milling machine. (Already wishing I bought a Optimum, as what I want seems to be readily available).

I would like to make it CNC. I have seen heaps of YouTube clips and seen where they mill all the parts individually.

I am not sure my skills are that good.

What I would like to buy is a complete kit, where you get all the instructions, all the bits and pieces, instructions in 1 go.

Am I dreaming ?

I also do not have a understanding of CAD... How are the designs inputted into the mill ? Does it automatically stop, when it needs a cutter change ?

Also seen a lot of software such as Mach3 and others...

I would just have thought this would have been a lot easier.

Ebay sellers, selling stepper motors, others selling designs, others selling metal work.

Very confusing to a newbe here...

Hope someone can assist.

BTW... I am in Melbourne, Australia.

Regards

Mike

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: SIEG X2L CNC By new member.

Hi Mike.
    Welcome to the world of cnc.
    Im fairly new myself ( to cnc )and there is a lot to learn. It can be daunting but when you get the hang of it and watching your machine cutting parts its all worth while.
    Cant help you with the seig questions as i built my own cnc from scratch.
    Down in melb. you have Homman Designs and Ocean controls who can help on the electronics side of things.