Choosing a precise benchtop mill

Thread: Choosing a precise benchtop mill

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Choosing a precise benchtop mill

Hi everyone,
    I apologize in advance for the long post.
    I'm a mechanical engineer and I'm in the market for a small bench top CNC mill so I can produce prototypes of an invention I've come up with. Due to my relative lack of CNC experience, I'm hoping the forum could help me choose the best mill for my needs. Here are my desires/requirements in a nutshell:

- I'll be machining aluminum and engineering plastics and possibly some PCB routing. The largest parts will be roughly 150mm x 65mm x 35mm. Features range from large 20mm deep pockets in the aluminum to sub-millimeter features and possibly some micro drilling. The small features lead me to believe I need a high speed spindle, but I worry about my ability to mill the pockets with such a spindle.

- I have tolerance requirements that seem to be significantly tighter than most bench top machines are capable of. My current design calls for dimensions of +/- 0.01mm with a surface flatness/perpendicularity of +/- 0.005mm. I came up with these requirements based on some engineering analysis, but ultimately I think it will take some trial and error to know what my real tolerance requirements are. So ideally a machine that could handle this tolerance or a bit better.

- I'd like a machine that can reasonably fit in an apartment or a bedroom, so I'm looking for 110V power and a manageable size/weight. I'd like to spend less than $15k. I would prefer a used machine.

Here are the machines I've considered:
    EMCO Concept 55 Mill: accuracy/repeatability doesn't quite meet my needs, size/weight at the upper limit of portability, slow spindle speed. However, I like the "mini-VMC" features of the machine like an ATC and a full enclosure.

Sherline/TAIG: Love the price and portability, but I don't see how these will meet my tolerance requirements.