Newbie School me on ER collets...

Thread: School me on ER collets...

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default School me on ER collets...

I'm new to ER collets, I'm well versed in R8 collets. I just bought a couple ER40 collet holders from Glacern for a good price, and a set of collets from Shars.

So, how do they compare to r8 collets in real life? Do they grip harder or is tool slippage a problem? Realistically, on a rf45 machine, will I even notice the loss in rigidity? What can I do with them? What can't I do with them? Please share all your ER collet wisdom with me

Mike

Similar Threads:
    Chasing tenths is hard...

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

They are almost totally different animals. I have never noticed rigidity difference, except maybe the effective length of the tool tip to the spindle will be more. You can do more because you have a larger size range to work with now. Hopefully you have the horsepower to match.

Downloads
    Uploads

They work a bit differently from R8 collets. You have to slip the collet into the closer nut until it snaps into place. Then you can insert the tool and tighten it, using 2 wrenches. If you neglect the snap-into-place step, then it will never seat correctly. But at least there's no drawbar that you have to break loose...

Andrew Werby
    ComputerSculpture.com — Home Page for Discount Hardware & Software

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by awerby View Post
    They work a bit differently from R8 collets. You have to slip the collet into the closer nut until it snaps into place. Then you can insert the tool and tighten it, using 2 wrenches. If you neglect the snap-into-place step, then it will never seat correctly. But at least there's no drawbar that you have to break loose...

Andrew Werby
    ComputerSculpture.com — Home Page for Discount Hardware & Software
    So THAT'S why the nut is machined with that weird off center groove in it...