Replacing X2 Spindle Bearings

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Replacing X2 Spindle Bearings

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Replacing X2 Spindle Bearings

After a quick search, I found the info on the Spindle Bearings for the Head assembly for the X2

I ordered them from McMaster...
    UPPER: $11.84
    5972K47 Metric Steel Ball Bearing Double Sealed Bearing NO.6206 for 30mm shaft diameter

LOWER: $14.03
    5972K85 Metric Steel Ball Bearing Double Sealed Bearing NO. 6007 for 35mm shaft diameter

I am going to use a threaded rod, scrap metal, some ingenuity and go through the process of bearing removal and installation. I will post pics of the process. I have never done this before so wish me luck.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Little machine shop has had this covered for years, might help you along.
    http://www.littlemachineshop.com/Ins...ndle%20Kit.pdf
    Hoss

Gosh, you've... really got some nice toys here. - Roy Batty -- [URL]http://www.g0704.com[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

I have been reading that for quite some time, but I wanted to add more info to the process. Sort of dumb it down a bit.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

My X2 has been torn down for a while. Aside from filling everything with JB-weld, attempting to strengthen the column, and now embarking into hand-scraping the ways I ruined by over-lapping, I swapped out the spindle bearings. For the bottom I used a roller-taper bearing. I don't remember the part number off hand, but I'm sure it's on the web somewhere.
    At the time, I thought I was going to run an oil bath through the head with a small pump. I even went so far as to order and install an oil seal for the spindle.
    However, the project has been shelved for a long time. Since I've been reading here about the apparently amazing Gruber (spelling?) grease, I've been thinking about just using that instead to save myself the headache of the oil bath.