Finding the Number of threads needed on an M3 screw, Autocad 2017

Thread: Finding the Number of threads needed on an M3 screw, Autocad 2017

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Finding the Number of threads needed on an M3 screw, Autocad 2017

Hi I am really new at creating threads on Autocad and screws in general. I'm currently working on a project that requires M3 flat head screws. I was wondering how many turns I can do on AutoCad just knowing the thread depth I have.

I am clueless if I am to look at the thread pitch, or something else. Also, am I supposed to make the thread holes smaller than the actual diameter of the screw, so that it will catch?

Any help would be appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Finding the Number of threads needed on an M3 screw, Autocad 2017

I don't know why it would matter? Are you modelling 3D threads, with the intent to use them with a CAM program?

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    I don't know why it would matter? Are you modelling 3D threads, with the intent to use them with a CAM program?
    Yes, that is my intention. I want the CAD schematic to Display the model as if it would be manufactured later.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads