Short Segments Causing Jerky motion

Thread: Short Segments Causing Jerky motion

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Short Segments Causing Jerky motion

I'm hoping to get some help with a general problem I am having that is resulting in jerky motion on a CNC router. I am very new to CNC and CAM, so it is possible I am making some sort of mistake(s) that are easy to correct.

While using a 3D Pocket Clearing operation to rough out material from the outside of a circular bowl shape, I get very jerky motion, but only on the last passes on each step-down level that are closest to the part. What is odd is that other passes further from the part run nicely for some reason. I have traced this down to the G code and have found that the rough operation happens due to a large number of very short segments, switching between G1 and G2/G3 commands. When the machine runs smoothly, it seems to be running G2/G3 commands that are much longer. I don't understand why the final pass closest to the surface would have such a different movement strategy. When I use a Scallop operation for the final pass with a ball-end, I get a series of very short G1 commands and the machine runs smoothly. So I don't THINK that data starving is the problem, unless a G2/G3 command takes alot more computing than a G1 command would.

How do I keep Fusion 360 from generating the alternating G1 to G2/G3 steps?

I have tried turning Smoothing on for both the Pocket Clearing and the Scallop operations, and did not see alot of difference. I have tried air-cutting to make sure I didn't have some feed/speed issue, but the problem still happens.

Some basic information about my setup:

UCCNC running with a UC400ETH controller
    200 IPM feed rate (system should be capable of 600 IPM electro-mechanically, not yet fully tested)

Please let me know what additional information would be helpful, and I will upload it.

Thanks,
    Robert

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads