Australia Advise on direction

Thread: Advise on direction

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Advise on direction

Artist hobbist, looking to branch into small run manufacturing.

Ok so i am a emerging sculpture artist, and i have a 3d vector art back ground.
    right now i make everything pretty much by hand and tools, be it sculpting in clay, carving shaping eva foam or polystyrene.

From there i tend to cast and make molds then pour and fill molds pop out final piece paint and display sell leave to gather dust.

jumping in and getting a smallish hobby cnc router Chinese or otherwise doesn't phase me. Its bridging the new language gap. As some of the terms i haven't heard before. As well is the order /process so to speak is new.

all i can do is say what i am trying to do. And hope one of you is able to say yep yep got it ok you need to do this learn that then do that and push print. Basically.

ok so i have a 3d background, i grew up making maps and mods for video games, games like warcraft, C&c franchise. Then dukenukem 3d came out. I began here and latter when half,life came out i moved away from just making maps to making item to populate the maps. So began 3d / vector art phase. I have used some of these programs over the years.
    milkshape, rhino, coraldraw, photoshop, 3dsmax, blender, but my bread and butter go to is maya. But i have also dabbled in a few other programs at least generally to save or modify file types then export and convert so on bring them to maya and generally work on then them there.

another thing i have done is used a xbox kinetic to 3d scan things, but this was very early on in 3d scanning development and it was a rather crappy piece of software that the models canned needed more post production than it was worth.

so what i need to be able to do and i am highly guessing its possible.

i need to make model in maya preferable. Export or convert to the chinese 6090 i am still yet to buy and have said model routed